Making your own personal goals – revisited.

Happiness., Self help

At the beginning of the week, I wrote a post about making your own personal goals. (Read it here.) So, that’s just what I did. I have been off work due to Easter break and this week had to spend it alone, which is something I find difficult to do. So, every day this week, I wrote a list of things that I wanted to get done and also in order, so that I had a structure for my day and something to achieve. Some items on the lists were small and others were larger jobs. I was going to add a photograph of them but I feel it’ll be much neater if I type them out (though I have added an image of them at the end, to show you how I did it)!

Day 1                                                                                      Day 2
Get up                                                                                    Get up and have breakfast
Mow the lawn                                                                      Meet mother in law to walk dogs
Clean the bathroom                                                          Have lunch
Have lunch                                                                           Clean upstairs and hoover
Watch TV – 1 hour                                                               Hair appointment 
Go to the gym                                                                       Prepare dinner (spag bol)
Prepare pizza base for tea                                               Watch TV (1 hour)
Take Frank and Bella for a walk                                    Read book before bed
Read my book – 30 mins
Friend to visit for tea

Day 3                                                                                      Day 4
Get up  and have breakfast                                            Get up and have breakfast
Watch TV – 1 hour                                                              Write blog and check survey
1 hour marking books                                                      Get ready
45 min read my book                                                        1 hour marking books
Have lunch                                                                           Meet Grandma for lunch
1 hour marking books                                                      Friend coming over
2 hour lesson prep
                                                             Finish marking and prep for work
Put beef in slow cooker                                                    Go to my friend’s for the eve
Go to the gym                                                                       Watch TV until bed
Prepare veg
Dinner with L’s parents

(There are only 4 days because it was a bank holiday week.)

As you can see, I didn’t always complete everything on my list, but that’s okay. The lists were really helpful because I knew that I did have something to do if I began to feel bored. I was feeling a little low on day 3 so you can see that I didn’t actually end up going to the gym or completing the work I needed to get done, so I added them into day 4 instead. Writing a list of things to do really worked for me as it gave me a reason to get up and I felt that there was a purpose for the day, even though on some days they were just minor activities. It helped to make me feel productive even though I didn’t feel like doing much. I also made sure not to fill the list with mundane jobs and put something in there for myself, such as reading or taking some time to watch the TV. I suppose next time I should add more of these, like listening to music or enjoying a riding lesson.

Small goals may lead to bigger goals eventually, but it is important to start somewhere. I am already anticipating my next break from work and planning what I’m going to do on each day, so I look forward to sharing that with you all! I’ve even thought well ahead and agreed to babysit my nephews for two of the days, so I know that it will be easier next time already!

I hope that maybe my list writing will inspire some people who find it difficult to get through long, lonely days. I know that there is nothing worse than waking up day after day with nothing on the schedule, and nothing to keep your brain ticking over. This way, you have a plan of action and soon it’ll become second nature!

NO IDEA why this image is upside down!! img_8296

2 thoughts on “Making your own personal goals – revisited.

Leave a Reply

